Nnedi Okorafor to write a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series

By Stacey Lai | October 6 2017 | Children'sGeneral

This week Nnedi Okorafor announced that she will be writing a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series, picking up where author Ta-Nehisi Coates left off! Read more on CNN here.

The new story will be three-issues and will be titled Black Panther: Long Live the King, according to her announcement on Twitter:

 

Nnedi has become recognized as a striking Nigerian-American voice in Sci-Fi recently. Her 2010 fantasy novel, Who Fears Death, has been optioned by HBO for a TV series executive produced by Game of Thrones series creator George R. R. Martin.

 

In other Nnedi news, John Green said he was looking forward to reading AKATA WARRIOR in his Vlogbrothers (3 million subscribers) video this week! Other Penguin titles mentioned include We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, and of course his own Turtles All the Way Down.

Akata Witch
978-0-14-242091-1
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world--for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
$11.99 US
Jul 11, 2017
Paperback
384 Pages
Speak
US, Canada, Open Mkt

Between the World and Me
978-0-525-51030-7
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF TIME’S TEN BEST NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE DECADE • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF OPRAH’S “BOOKS THAT HELP ME THROUGH” • NOW AN HBO ORIGINAL SPECIAL EVENT Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the most important essayist in a generation and a writer who changed the national political conversation about race” (Rolling Stone) NAMED ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL BOOKS OF THE DECADE BY CNN • NAMED ONE OF PASTE’S BEST MEMOIRS OF THE DECADE • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • O: The Oprah Magazine • The Washington Post • People • Entertainment Weekly • Vogue • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Chicago Tribune • New York • Newsday • Library Journal • Publishers Weekly  In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of “race,” a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men—bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden?Between the World and Me is Ta-Nehisi Coates’s attempt to answer these questions in a letter to his adolescent son. Coates shares with his son—and readers—the story of his awakening to the truth about his place in the world through a series of revelatory experiences, from Howard University to Civil War battlefields, from the South Side of Chicago to Paris, from his childhood home to the living rooms of mothers whose children’s lives were taken as American plunder. Beautifully woven from personal narrative, reimagined history, and fresh, emotionally charged reportage, Between the World and Me clearly illuminates the past, bracingly confronts our present, and offers a transcendent vision for a way forward.
$11.99 US
Sep 05, 2017
Paperback
176 Pages
One World
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

Who Fears Death
978-0-7564-0728-5
Winner of the 2011 World Fantasy Award, Who Fears Death is the story of a young woman fighting for her life, her culture, and her identity. This unique blend of science fiction, fantasy, and African culture is a powerful tale of women's strength and violent heritage and a strong commentary on modern politics and race.
$8.99 US
Feb 04, 2014
Mass Market Paperback
432 Pages
DAW
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

Turtles All the Way Down
978-0-525-55536-0
The wait is over! John Green, the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars, is back.
$19.99 US
Oct 10, 2017
Hardcover
304 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
US, Canada, Open Mkt