Nnedi Okorafor to write a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series

By Stacey Lai | October 6 2017 | Children'sGeneral

This week Nnedi Okorafor announced that she will be writing a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series, picking up where author Ta-Nehisi Coates left off! Read more on CNN here.

The new story will be three-issues and will be titled Black Panther: Long Live the King, according to her announcement on Twitter:

 

Nnedi has become recognized as a striking Nigerian-American voice in Sci-Fi recently. Her 2010 fantasy novel, Who Fears Death, has been optioned by HBO for a TV series executive produced by Game of Thrones series creator George R. R. Martin.

 

In other Nnedi news, John Green said he was looking forward to reading AKATA WARRIOR in his Vlogbrothers (3 million subscribers) video this week! Other Penguin titles mentioned include We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, and of course his own Turtles All the Way Down.

Akata Witch
978-0-14-242091-1
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world--for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
$10.99 US
Jul 11, 2017
Paperback
384 Pages
Speak
US, Canada, Open Mkt

Between the World and Me
978-0-525-51030-7
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER • NAMED ONE OF TIME’S TEN BEST NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE DECADE • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF OPRAH’S “BOOKS THAT HELP ME THROUGH” • NOW AN HBO ORIGINAL SPECIAL EVENT Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the most important essayist in a generation and a writer who changed the national political conversation about race” (Rolling Stone) NAMED ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL BOOKS OF THE DECADE BY CNN • NAMED ONE OF PASTE’S BEST MEMOIRS OF THE DECADE • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • O: The Oprah Magazine • The Washington Post • People • Entertainment Weekly • Vogue • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Chicago Tribune • New York • Newsday • Library Journal • Publishers Weekly  In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of “race,” a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men—bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden?Between the World and Me is Ta-Nehisi Coates’s attempt to answer these questions in a letter to his adolescent son. Coates shares with his son—and readers—the story of his awakening to the truth about his place in the world through a series of revelatory experiences, from Howard University to Civil War battlefields, from the South Side of Chicago to Paris, from his childhood home to the living rooms of mothers whose children’s lives were taken as American plunder. Beautifully woven from personal narrative, reimagined history, and fresh, emotionally charged reportage, Between the World and Me clearly illuminates the past, bracingly confronts our present, and offers a transcendent vision for a way forward.
$10.99 US
Sep 05, 2017
Paperback
176 Pages
One World
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

Who Fears Death
978-0-7564-0728-5
Winner of the 2011 World Fantasy Award, Who Fears Death is the story of a young woman fighting for her life, her culture, and her identity. This unique blend of science fiction, fantasy, and African culture is a powerful tale of women's strength and violent heritage and a strong commentary on modern politics and race.
$8.99 US
Feb 04, 2014
Mass Market Paperback
432 Pages
DAW
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series)
978-0-345-54056-0
Perfect for fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones—a boxed set featuring the first five novels!An immersive entertainment experience unlike any other, A Song of Ice and Fire has earned George R. R. Martin—dubbed “the American Tolkien” by Time magazine—international acclaim and millions of loyal readers. Now here is the entire monumental cycle:   A GAME OF THRONES A CLASH OF KINGS A STORM OF SWORDS A FEAST FOR CROWS A DANCE WITH DRAGONS   “One of the best series in the history of fantasy.”—Los Angeles Times   Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse—unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season.   Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen’s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister—the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms.   Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki—whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.   “Long live George Martin . . . a literary dervish, enthralled by complicated characters and vivid language, and bursting with the wild vision of the very best tale tellers.”—The New York Times
$44.95 US
May 22, 2012
Boxed Set
5216 Pages
Bantam
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

Turtles All the Way Down
978-0-525-55536-0
The wait is over! John Green, the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars, is back.
$19.99 US
Oct 10, 2017
Hardcover
304 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
US, Canada, Open Mkt