Nnedi Okorafor to write a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series

By Stacey Lai | October 6 2017 | Children's General

This week Nnedi Okorafor announced that she will be writing a story for Marvel’s Black Panther series, picking up where author Ta-Nehisi Coates left off! Read more on CNN here.

The new story will be three-issues and will be titled Black Panther: Long Live the King, according to her announcement on Twitter:

 

Nnedi has become recognized as a striking Nigerian-American voice in Sci-Fi recently. Her 2010 fantasy novel, Who Fears Death, has been optioned by HBO for a TV series executive produced by Game of Thrones series creator George R. R. Martin.

 

In other Nnedi news, John Green said he was looking forward to reading AKATA WARRIOR in his Vlogbrothers (3 million subscribers) video this week! Other Penguin titles mentioned include We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, and of course his own Turtles All the Way Down.

978-0-14-242091-1
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world--for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
$10.99 US | $14.99 CAN
Jul 11, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
384 Pages
Speak
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-670-78561-2
The long-awaited sequel to the genre-breaking Akata Witch-which has been called "the Nigerian Harry Potter"-by multiple award-winner Nnedi Okorafor
$18.99 US | $24.99 CAN
Oct 03, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
496 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

An American Tragedy
978-0-525-51028-4
In these “urgently relevant essays,”* the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including the election of Donald Trump. New York Times Bestseller • Finalist for the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • USA Today • Time • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Essence • O: The Oprah Magazine • The Week • Kirkus Reviews *Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“We were eight years in power” was the lament of Reconstruction-era black politicians as the American experiment in multiracial democracy ended with the return of white supremacist rule in the South. In this sweeping collection of new and selected essays, Ta-Nehisi Coates explores the tragic echoes of that history in our own time: the unprecedented election of a black president followed by a vicious backlash that fueled the election of the man Coates argues is America’s “first white president.” But the story of these present-day eight years is not just about presidential politics. This book also examines the new voices, ideas, and movements for justice that emerged over this period—and the effects of the persistent, haunting shadow of our nation’s old and unreconciled history. Coates powerfully examines the events of the Obama era from his intimate and revealing perspective—the point of view of a young writer who begins the journey in an unemployment office in Harlem and ends it in the Oval Office, interviewing a president. We Were Eight Years in Power features Coates’s iconic essays first published in The Atlantic, including “Fear of a Black President,” “The Case for Reparations,” and “The Black Family in the Age of Mass Incarceration,” along with eight fresh essays that revisit each year of the Obama administration through Coates’s own experiences, observations, and intellectual development, capped by a bracingly original assessment of the election that fully illuminated the tragedy of the Obama era. We Were Eight Years in Power is a vital account of modern America, from one of the definitive voices of this historic moment.“Essential . . . Coates’s probing essays about race, politics, and history became necessary ballast for this nation’s gravity-defying moment.”—The Boston Globe 
$19.00 US
Oct 03, 2017
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Paperback
400 Pages
One World
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

978-0-525-51030-7
Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States” (The New York Observer)#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • O: The Oprah Magazine • The Washington Post • People • Entertainment Weekly • Vogue • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Chicago Tribune • New York • Newsday • Library Journal • Publishers WeeklyIn a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of “race,” a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men—bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden? Between the World and Me is Ta-Nehisi Coates’s attempt to answer these questions in a letter to his adolescent son. Coates shares with his son—and readers—the story of his awakening to the truth about his place in the world through a series of revelatory experiences, from Howard University to Civil War battlefields, from the South Side of Chicago to Paris, from his childhood home to the living rooms of mothers whose children’s lives were taken as American plunder. Beautifully woven from personal narrative, reimagined history, and fresh, emotionally charged reportage, Between the World and Me clearly illuminates the past, bracingly confronts our present, and offers a transcendent vision for a way forward.Praise for Between the World and Me“Powerful . . . a searing meditation on what it means to be black in America today.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times “Eloquent . . . in the tradition of James Baldwin with echoes of Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man . . . an autobiography of the black body in America.”—The Boston Globe “Brilliant . . . [Coates] is firing on all cylinders.”—The Washington Post “Urgent, lyrical, and devastating . . . a new classic of our time.”—Vogue “A crucial book during this moment of generational awakening.”—The New Yorker “Titanic and timely . . . essential reading.”—Entertainment Weekly
$10.99 US
Sep 05, 2017
4-3/16 x 6-7/8
Paperback
176 Pages
Spiegel & Grau
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

978-0-7564-0728-5
Winner of the 2011 World Fantasy Award, Who Fears Death is the story of a young woman fighting for her life, her culture, and her identity. This unique blend of science fiction, fantasy, and African culture is a powerful tale of women's strength and violent heritage and a strong commentary on modern politics and race.
$7.99 US | $9.99 CAN
Feb 04, 2014
4-3/16 x 6-3/4
Mass Market Paperback
432 Pages
DAW
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

978-0-7564-0669-1
Now optioned as a TV series for HBO, with executive producer George R. R. Martin!An award-winning literary author enters the world of magical realism with her World Fantasy Award-winning novel of a remarkable woman in post-apocalyptic Africa. In a post-apocalyptic Africa, the world has changed in many ways; yet in one region genocide between tribes still bloodies the land. A woman who has survived the annihilation of her village and a terrible rape by an enemy general wanders into the desert, hoping to die. Instead, she gives birth to an angry baby girl with hair and skin the color of sand. Gripped by the certainty that her daughter is different—special—she names her Onyesonwu, which means "Who fears death?" in an ancient language. It doesn't take long for Onye to understand that she is physically and socially marked by the circumstances of her conception. She is Ewu—a child of rape who is expected to live a life of violence, a half-breed rejected by her community. But Onye is not the average Ewu. Even as a child, she manifests the beginnings of a remarkable and unique magic. As she grows, so do her abilities, and during an inadvertent visit to the spirit realm, she learns something terrifying: someone powerful is trying to kill her.Desperate to elude her would-be murderer and to understand her own nature, she embarks on a journey in which she grapples with nature, tradition, history, true love, and the spiritual mysteries of her culture, and ultimately learns why she was given the name she bears: Who Fears Death.
$16.00 US | $17.50 CAN
Jun 07, 2011
6 x 9
Paperback
400 Pages
DAW
US,CAN,OpnMkt(no EU)

A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons
978-0-345-54056-0
The perfect gift for fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones—a boxed set featuring the first five novels!An immersive entertainment experience unlike any other, A Song of Ice and Fire has earned George R. R. Martin—dubbed “the American Tolkien” by Time magazine—international acclaim and millions of loyal readers. Now here is the entire monumental cycle:   A GAME OF THRONES A CLASH OF KINGS A STORM OF SWORDS A FEAST FOR CROWS A DANCE WITH DRAGONS   “One of the best series in the history of fantasy.”—Los Angeles Times   Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse—unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season.   Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen’s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister—the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms.   Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki—whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.   “Long live George Martin . . . a literary dervish, enthralled by complicated characters and vivid language, and bursting with the wild vision of the very best tale tellers.”—The New York Times
$44.95 US
May 22, 2012
Boxed Set
5216 Pages
Bantam
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

978-0-525-55536-0
The wait is over! John Green, the #1 bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars, is back.
$19.99 US | $25.99 CAN
Oct 10, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
304 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-7352-3201-3
Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award -- An achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.
$11.99 US
Feb 14, 2017
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
240 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition