Recommended Summer Intern Reads

By Viviana Morales | August 10 2023 | AdultChildren'sGeneralGraphic Novels & Manga

In my time as a summer intern, I have been so grateful to explore and read as much as I would like! Between the amazing people I have met and the titles I have had the pleasure of working on, this summer has been the best summer I have had in a long time. As my last week approaches, I will share the best titles I have read this summer! One should note, I am a huge nerd at heart and love, and I mean love, science fiction YA (preferably dystopian).

Let the nerdy recommendations begin below!

Marvel titles I am excited about are:

  • MILES MORALES: SPIDER-MAN VOL. 1 – TRIAL BY SPIDER by Cody Ziglarp – 9781302948528

My thoughts: From a Spider-Man fanatic, particularly a Miles Morales fan, this was such a cool read! From the first appearance of Miles’ first appearance in comics to the spider-verse movies, this was yes on my list of TBR. From the Scorpion’s reintroduction to the movie tie-in easter eggs to the amazing art created, this was a 10/10 read.

  • SPIDER-MAN 2099: DARK GENESIS by Steve Orlando – 9781302952235

My thoughts: While I haven’t read this comic yet, I have always been a Miguel O’Hara fan, so I am super excited to see him in this novel and how it corresponds with the Spider-Verse, as well as Blade 2099’s debut and Miguel’s Carnage!

  • SPIDER-GWEN: SHADOW CLONES by Emily Kim – 9781302951184

My thoughts: While I haven’t read this comic yet either, I am excited to learn more about Miles and Spider-Gwen’s relationship in the Spider-Verse, as well as her own Spider-Verse story. Especially since she is one of the few Spider-Women!

 

 

Dystopian Science Fiction & Fantasy Young Adult

House of Marionne
978-0-593-52770-2

**Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only!**”Full of magic and intrigue, this read is the perfect escape for fans of fantasies that straddle the edge of our world and transport readers to dazzling, deceptive, and unexpected places.” – Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Ballad of Never AfterFrom New York Times bestselling author J. Elle comes a modern-day YA romantic fantasy series opener about a glamorous magical world of social elites, forbidden love, and a dark magic that could destroy it all. A must-read for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and Bridgerton.”The forbidden love story of my wildest dreams. This book is going to delight not only fantasy readers, but romance lovers of all ages!” – Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author

My thoughts: I have always loved dark academia and magic fantasy in YA. I also love a YA that involves social class parallels and shows power and strength in young women!

$19.99 US
Aug 29, 2023
Hardcover
432 Pages
Razorbill
US, Canada, Open Mkt

An Ember in the Ashes
978-1-59514-803-2

BOOK ONE IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIESOne of Time Magazine’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All TimeOne of Time Magazine’s 100 Best YA Books of All Time Instant New York Times bestsellerFrom #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa TahirAmazon’s Best Young Adult Book of 2015People’s Choice Award winner – Favorite FantasyBustle’s Best Young Adult Book of 2015 “This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human — and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” — The Washington Post “An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory…It has the addictive quality of The Hunger Games combined with the fantasy of Harry Potter and the brutality of Game of Thrones.”—Public Radio International “An Ember in the Ashes glows, burns, and smolders—as beautiful and radiant as it is searing.”—Huffington Post “A worthy novel – and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.   Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.   It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.   But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.   There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

My Thoughts: I LOVE dystopian YA. Especially political corruption YA that parallels what our society could be. Also who doesn’t love a bit of enemies-to-lovers romance? Could not get enough of the world-building in this title! Definitely made my top 5 favorite list.

$21.95 US
Apr 28, 2015
Hardcover
464 Pages
Razorbill
US, Canada, Open Mkt

Star Wars

Star Wars: Inquisitor: Rise of the Red Blade
978-0-593-59858-0
When the Jedi Order falls, an Inquisitor Rises.
My thoughts: As an avid Star Wars fan and in preparation for the Ashoka series, this is one of the best Star Wars reads I have read in a long time.
$29.99 US
Jul 18, 2023
FOC Jun 19, 2023
Hardcover
368 Pages
Random House Worlds
US, Canada, Open Mkt

Miscellaneous Reads!

Sí, Se Puede
978-1-9848-6091-0

Meet the unsung Latino rebels, artists, and activists who changed the United States–from Dolores Huerta to Desi Arnaz to Lin Manuel Miranda–in this bold and entertaining graphic history.

My thoughts: This graphic novel has been so impactful for me to read as Latina from Puerto Rico. This made me feel whole, like somewhere, someplace, there is recognition for us and who we are. As well as YASMÍN FLORES MONTAÑEZ is an amazing graphic artist for some of DC’s comics!

$19.99 US
Oct 10, 2023
FOC Sep 11, 2023
Paperback
176 Pages
Ten Speed Graphic
World

Light Bringer
978-0-425-28597-8

Darrow returns as Pierce Brown’s New York Times bestselling Red Rising series continues in the thrilling sequel to Dark Age.

My thoughts: I didn’t think there would be more to this series, but I am so happy there is! This was one of the best adult sci-fi series I have read. From heartbreak to rage and even now to dark persistence, this has been a phenomenal read 10/10 would recommend it.

$30.00 US
Jul 25, 2023
Hardcover
704 Pages
Del Rey
US, Canada, Open Mkt

To Be Read!

Her Radiant Curse
978-0-593-30099-2
From the New York Times bestselling author of SIX CRIMSON CRANES comes a tale of two sisters—one as beautiful as the other is monstrous— who must fight to save each other when a betrothal contest gone wrong unleashes an evil that could sever their bond forever.
My thoughts: I have been fixated on East Asian folklore, and reading from Asian authors, and this is a title I am so ready for! The world-building, the sister relationship, and in a medieval fantasy setting? I am in LOVE!
$19.99 US
Aug 29, 2023
Hardcover
432 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
US, Canada, Open Mkt