January Children’s Hot Titles

By Amanda Holman | November 3 2017 | Children's

We have lots of exciting children’s hot titles to start off the year! There is the movie tie-in edition ofThe Death Cure, the newest in the DC Icons series by Marie Lu, and an important and timely story on race in America (Love, Hate and Other Filters). And those are just a few!

Childrens_HotTitles_January_2018

978-1-5247-1445-1
The third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, The Death Cure, will soon be a major motion picture starring Dylan O'Brien of MTV's Teen Wolf ; Game of Thrones' Aidan Gillen; Giancarlo Esposito; Kaya Scodelario; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster.
$10.99 US | $14.99 CAN
Dec 26, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
368 Pages
Delacorte Press
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-525-51601-9
Narrated by Destiny, this heartbreaking -- and timely -- story of refugees escaping from war-torn Syria is masterfully told by a foreign news correspondent who experienced the crisis firsthand.
$12.00 US
Jan 23, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Philomel Books
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
World
Export Edition

978-0-448-49399-2
A single-subject anthology about the heart's most powerful emotion, edited by Tavi Gevinson. Featuring exclusive, never-before-seen essays, poems, comics, and interviews from contributors like Jenny Zhang, Emma Straub, Hilton Als, Janet Mock, John Green, Rainbow Rowell, Gabourey Sidibe, Mitski, Alessia Cara, Etgar Keret, Margo Jefferson, Sarah Manguso, Durga Chew-Bose, and many more!
$14.95 US | $19.95 CAN
Jan 02, 2018
5 x 8
Paperback
288 Pages
Razorbill
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
World

978-0-451-47981-5
An LGBT fantasy series that follows a talented necromancer who must face down a deadly nemesis who has learned how to turn her magic into a weapon.
$11.50 US
Jan 23, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
384 Pages
Razorbill
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
World
Export Edition

978-0-375-86622-7
Lyrical, imaginative, and wholly original, this New York Times bestseller with 8 starred reviews is not to be missed. Rachel Hartman's award-winning debut will have you looking at dragons as you've never imagined them before...
$11.99 US
Dec 23, 2014
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
528 Pages
Ember
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

A Companion to Seraphina
978-0-375-86624-1
Seraphina took the literary world by storm with 8 starred reviews and numerous "Best of" lists. Her eagerly awaited sequel has arrived--now in paperback--and with it comes an epic battle between humans and dragons.
$11.99 US
Jan 30, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
624 Pages
Ember
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
US, Opn Mkt (no CAN)

978-0-553-49918-6
Now with a bold new look, the second edge-of-your-seat installment in the New York Times bestselling series by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, called "stylistically mesmerizing" and "out-of-this-world-awesome" by reviewers.
$12.99 US | $17.99 CAN
Jan 16, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
Ember
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-0-525-57856-7
The new, eagerly anticipated BATMAN YA novel is an action-packed thrill ride that could only be penned by #1 New York Times bestselling author MARIE LU.
$12.00 US
Jan 02, 2018
6-1/8 x 9-1/8
Paperback
288 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
World
Export Edition

978-0-525-57855-0
An assassin becomes a spy in this heart-pounding sequel to Poison's Kiss. Readers who love the assassin angle in Throne of Glass, the lethal touch in Shatter Me, or the high stakes of The Wrath and the Dawn will want to follow this story to the end. A single kiss could kill. A single secret could save the kingdom.
$12.00 US
Jan 16, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
336 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up
World
Export Edition

978-0-525-57827-7
Fans of Sophie Kinsella's sparkling humor will love her first ever illustrated series for young readers about the charming adventures of a mother-daughter fairy duo!
$12.00 US
Jan 02, 2018
5-1/2 x 7-7/8
Paperback
160 Pages
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Age 7-10 years
Grades 2-5
US,OpnMkt(no EU/CAN)
Export Edition

978-0-525-51621-7
Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in this wild, warm-hearted, and hilarious sci-fi debut about a brainy young girl who is recruited for a very special boarding school.
$9.99 US
Jan 23, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
352 Pages
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up
World
Export Edition

978-0-451-47960-0
Like a middle-grade Magic School Bus, the Thrifty Guides take readers on funny and informative trips to the greatest moments in history!
$13.99 US | $18.99 CAN
Jan 30, 2018
6 x 9
Hardcover
144 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World

978-0-394-80002-8
The riotously funny follow-up to The Cat in the Hat celebrates its 60th Anniversary!
$9.99 US | $12.99 CAN
Sep 12, 1958
6-1/2 x 9
Hardcover
72 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2
World except UK/Ireland

978-0-394-80937-3
A Dr. Seuss classic turns 50!
$9.99 US | $12.99 CAN
Oct 12, 1968
6-1/2 x 9
Hardcover
36 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-1-5247-6618-4
An easy-to-read book about color, inspired by Dr. Seuss and illustrated with artwork from his books!
$9.99 US | $12.99 CAN
Jan 02, 2018
6-1/2 x 9
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-1-5247-7055-6
An easy reader about animals--real and imaginary--with illustrations by Dr. Seuss!
$9.99 US | $12.99 CAN
Jan 02, 2018
6-1/2 x 9
Hardcover
36 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
US, Canada, Open Mkt

978-1-5247-4091-7
"[A] poetic reckoning of the importance of love in a child's life . . . eloquent and moving." - People "Everything that can be called love -- from shared joy to comfort in the darkness -- is gathered in the pages of this reassuring, refreshingly honest picture book." - The New York Times Book Review, Editors' Choice / Staff Picks From the Book Review From Newbery Medal-winning author Matt de la Peña and bestselling illustrator Loren Long comes a story about the strongest bond there is and the diverse and powerful ways it connects us all.
$17.99 US | $23.99 CAN
Jan 09, 2018
9-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3
World

978-0-375-87491-8
This tall board book, in the tradition of I am a Bunny and The Rooster Struts, is now back in print after decades!
$7.99 US | $10.99 CAN
Jan 09, 2018
5-1/8 x 9-1/2
Board Book
26 Pages
Golden Books
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool
World

978-1-5247-6808-9
The bunny-est boxed set ever, from Richard Scarry! Features some of the best-loved Little Golden Books of all time!
$24.95 US | $29.95 CAN
Jan 09, 2018
6-5/8 x 8
Boxed Set
24 Pages
Golden Books
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten
World

978-1-61695-955-5
A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacquelyn Woodson, and Adam Silvera.
$10.00 US
Jan 16, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Soho Teen
Age 14 and up
Grade 9 & Up
US, Canada, Open Mkt
Export Edition

How Space Science and Sea Science Interact
978-1-4263-2867-1
Journey from the deepest trenches in the oceans to the farthest humans have ventured into space and learn what it takes to explore the extremes. You might just be surprised by how similar the domains of ASTRONAUTS and AQUANAUTS really are.
$18.99 US | $24.99 CAN
Jan 09, 2018
7-5/8 x 9-3/4
Hardcover
96 Pages
National Geographic Children's Books
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World except UK/Ireland

Massive Mountains! Supersize Storms! Alien Atmospheres!
978-1-4263-2798-8
Take to the skies with planetary geologist Dr. E and her robot sidekick, Rover, to explore the solar system's wildest, most astronomical geology--with comic book flair!
$12.99 US | $16.99 CAN
Jan 30, 2018
7-1/2 x 10
Paperback
128 Pages
National Geographic Children's Books
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7
World except UK/Ireland

978-1-4263-3042-1
Dig into the amazing past of ancient Egypt in this new Level 3 Reader from National Geographic Kids.
$4.99 US | $5.99 CAN
Jan 09, 2018
6 x 9
Paperback
48 Pages
National Geographic Children's Books
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4
World except UK/Ireland

The Girls and Women of the Bible
978-1-58089-374-9
Old Testatment stories center around men. Leaders, prophets, kings, and priests are all male. But hidden in the background are strong-willed, daring females.
$18.99 US | $22.99 CAN
Jan 16, 2018
7-1/2 x 10
Hardcover
112 Pages
Charlesbridge
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up
World